Colorado Republican Party Elects Jeff Hays as New Party Chair

ENGLEWOOD, COLORADO — Colorado Republicans elected former El Paso County chairman Jeff Hays as the state party’s new chair during the State Central Committee Meeting held April 1st 2017 in Englewood.

IMG_3622 (1)

Former El Paso County Republican Chair Jeff Hays will lead Colorado’s Republicans for the next two years. Hays had led the El Paso County GOP, the state’s largest county party, for two terms before announcing earlier this year he would seek to become state party chair.

Following a spirited campaign, Hays defeated George Athanasopoulos, 284-146.


“I’m humbled, I’m happy, I’m ready to get to work,” Hays said after the vote by the state party Central Committee. “Everyone who’s heard me give a stump speech has heard me spell the word “fun” — W-I-N. My goal is to make sure Colorado’s Republicans have a lot of fun in November 2018.”

State Republicans also elected Colorado Springs organizer Sherrie Gibson as vice chair over Grand Junction activist Kevin McCarney. Incumbent party secretary Brandi Meek was reelected without opposition.


Former state GOP chair Steve House announced in January he would not seek another term as chair.