Colorado GOP Announces 2018 Trailblazer Program

Greenwood Village, CO – Today the Colorado Republican Party announced the initial list of candidates participating in our 2018 Trailblazer Program. The Trailblazer Program is designed to emulate the National Republican Congressional Committee’s Young Guns Program, with the intention of helping Republican candidates for the Colorado State Legislature achieve campaign goals and meet benchmarks that will allow them to win in November.

As candidates refine and improve their campaigns, they advance through the Trailblazer Program’s three tiers of achievement: On the RadarContender, and ultimately Trailblazer status. Progressing through each tier and eventually to Trailblazer status reflects a campaign’s ability to reach the key milestones that will lead to victory, as evaluated by Colorado Republican Party officials.

Colorado Republican Chairman Jeff Hays issued the following statement about the 2018 Trailblazers Program:

“I am thrilled to announce the list of dedicated candidates who have enrolled in our Trailblazers Program. These candidates are committed to meeting the benchmarks necessary to mount a successful campaign. The Colorado Republican Party looks forward to working especially closely with these candidates as they advance toward victory in November.”


Toren Mushovic, House District 3
Kit Roupe, House District 17
Joan Poston, House District 23
Matt Soper, House District 54
Olen Lund, Senate District 5
Tim Neville, Senate District 16
Christine Jensen, Senate District 20
Tony Sanchez, Senate District 22
Beth Martinez-Humenik, Senate District 24
Mark Calonder, Senate District 32